Up & coming: Bradley Stone

On the days that I choose to listen to the radio, mostly because I can’t be bothered piss farting (mucking around) around with my FM transmitter that is the replacement for my broken head unit in my car, I’ll listen to Triple J, which I honestly wish I had done sooner, and so should everyone else if you’re into the indie sort of music scene.

I have been introduced to some amazing acts and it makes for an easy hour and half drive home from uni on a Friday afternoon when you don’t have to listen to Ed Sheeran’s “Castle on the Hill” 6 times in half an hour. Don’t get me wrong, I’m on the Sheeran boat, but I’ll listen in my own time thank you 101.9.

Before I go on I will say that I am not a music journalist, I only recommend artists that I think are worth the recognition, I won’t in any way pretend to be someone I’m not. This is a blog after all.

Can I just say first of all, I wish this artist had been discovered earlier. With only a collaboration track with another hip-hop musical artist called Drapht, and a newly released single titled ‘On the Moon’, which I recently heard on a slow drive home from the supermarket on Wednesday night.

He is a 19 y/o singer/songwriter called Bradley Stone, and his voice accompanied by a soft melodic strumming of a guitar, makes my heart melt. He topped the charts on Triple J Unearthed for two months with his original song ‘LOVER’, but I am yet to hear that. I will say my hopes are very high for that one, I doubt I’ll be disappointed. I have literally been listening to this song NON-STOP since I heard it, I could never get sick of a song like this, much like listening to any Angus & Julia Stone song ever.

Since listening deeply to the lyrics of the song, I have researched further into the masterpiece (I’m not exaggerating) that is this angelic song. After a softly strummed introduction, Stone sings “I was on the moon, when you, were taken too soon”. I have recently learned from the Triple J Unearthed website that the song is an “emotional” tribute from son to father, and explores the thoughts of a dreamer as he floats further into his dream world. What an amazing dedication to your father.

There is nothing I love more than discovering new artists and being able to share it with the world. Bradley Stone (whoops, almost wrote Cooper) is definitely worth checking out if your preferred sound is singer/songwriter and probably also a tad of an angel.

G. x

Leave a Reply

