If you’re still reading 

So amongst all the things I could talk about this week including newly discovered music such as Khalid’s saved, which is my current fave jam, I’m gonna stray from the usual (if you could call it that yet) music review and I’m gonna talk about something that’s being brought up very broadly in the media.

This weeks topic: Mental Health.

Sorry guys, it needs to be talked about and despite there being so many posts about it recently, that is if you’ve listening to the radio or reading the newspaper, I want to speak out. 

This post will be so personal and extremely hard to write but the large amount of publicity it has been getting makes me feel as though I can talk openly (somewhat) about it, and so should anyone. 

Before I do go on I will say, I’m not an attention seeker, I never have been and I’m not about to be, so if you feel like you’d be judgemental in any way about this issue, please don’t read on. 

I have dealt with several mental health issues since I was 12, in year 7. For privacy reasons I won’t say how or what affected me, and others so severely, that I couldn’t wake up and feel positive about the day ahead, but dread the day ahead. 

At the tender age of twelve I was not told what a mental health issue was of course because it wasn’t really a ‘thing’ back then. People were told they were different, because they acted and/or dressed differently. I could not be happier today that it is being addressed as an actual illness, and not something that people just decide that they have. 

A series of unfortunate events lead to what felt like the worst 4 years of my life mentally. It was torture, anyone who has lived with it knows that it’s impossible to do so many things, although I definitely did not have it the worst. It is something I still live with today but slowly learning how to control it (to an extent). 

As I grew up slowly I watched people I loved around me suffer just as much as I was, some who now still live with constant fucking dread. It’s hard to watch.

The topic that is being so heavily discussed and circulated throughout many media outlets that inspired this post is anorexia as a mental illness, and not something people choose to do. It disgusts me to think that there are people out there who call it ‘attention seeking’ as opposed to a real mental issue and to those people I say, go fuck yourselves. 

I don’t think I need to say anything too broad about this because you know what it is. I would love for this, and other illnesses such as depression, anxiety, panic disorders, eating disorders, schizophrenia and substance abuse to be acknowledged amongst not only my community, but all around the world. There’s never a simple reason as to why these affect so many people, and they need to be recognised. They are real. I’m sorry to bore you with the statistics but 8 million people die as a result of mental illness per year. 

This hasn’t been the best post nor was it the easiest, but if I can get my word out even slightly, hopefully we can start to see a change.

If you or anyone you know is suffering, please contact one of the following lifelines:

Beyond Blue – 1300 22 4636 or visit their website https://www.beyondblue.org.au/

Suicide lifeline – 13 11 14 

Much love, G.

Leave a Reply

